Personal tools
You are here: Home Online Resources
"All of us can think of a book... that we hope none of our children have taken off the shelf. But if I have the right to remove that book from the shelf -that work I abhor- then you also have exactly the same right and so does everyone else. And then we have no books left on the shelf for any of us."

—Katherine Paterson

 

Powell's Daily Book Reviews

Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 30: Wendy and the Lost Boys: The Uncommon Life of Wendy Wasserstein  Fri, 30 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Wendy and the Lost Boys: The Uncommon Life of Wendy WassersteinWendy and the Lost Boys: The Uncommon Life of Wendy Wasserstein by Julie Salamon, a review from The New Republic by Adam Kirsch. 
Review-a-Day for Thu, Sep 29: Poisoned: The True Story of the Deadly E. Coli Outbreak That Changed the Way Americans Eat  Thu, 29 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Poisoned: The True Story of the Deadly E. Coli Outbreak That Changed the Way Americans EatPoisoned: The True Story of the Deadly E. Coli Outbreak That Changed the Way Americans Eat by Jeff Benedict, a review from The Oregonian by Lynne Terry. 
Review-a-Day for Wed, Sep 28: The Echo Chamber  Wed, 28 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
The Echo ChamberThe Echo Chamber by Luke Williams, a review from Bookslut by Jaya Chatterjee. 
Review-a-Day for Tue, Sep 27: The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement  Tue, 27 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
The Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and AchievementThe Social Animal: The Hidden Sources of Love, Character, and Achievement by David Brooks, a review from The Wilson Quarterly by Jag Bhalla. 
Review-a-Day for Mon, Sep 26: Supergods: What Masked Vigilantes, Miraculous Mutants, and a Sun God from Smallville Can Teach Us about Being Human  Mon, 26 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Supergods: What Masked Vigilantes, Miraculous Mutants, and a Sun God from Smallville Can Teach Us about Being HumanSupergods: What Masked Vigilantes, Miraculous Mutants, and a Sun God from Smallville Can Teach Us about Being Human by Grant Morrison, a review from Rain Taxi by Greg Baldino. 
Review-a-Day for Sun, Sep 25: Habibi  Sun, 25 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
HabibiHabibi by Craig Thompson, a review from NPR by Glen Weldon. 
Review-a-Day for Sat, Sep 24: Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith  Sat, 24 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Under the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent FaithUnder the Banner of Heaven: A Story of Violent Faith by Jon Krakauer, a review from Powells.com by Doug Brown. 
Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 23: Mightier Than the Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for America  Fri, 23 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Mightier Than the Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for AmericaMightier Than the Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin and the Battle for America by David S. Reynolds, a review from The New Republic by Drew Gilpin Faust. 
Review-a-Day for Thu, Sep 22: Driving Home: An American Journey  Thu, 22 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Driving Home: An American JourneyDriving Home: An American Journey by Jonathan Raban, a review from The Oregonian by Debra Gwartney. 
Review-a-Day for Wed, Sep 21: Life Itself: A Memoir  Wed, 21 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Life Itself: A MemoirLife Itself: A Memoir by Roger Ebert, a review from Washington Post Book World by Gerald Bartell. 
Review-a-Day for Tue, Sep 20: Fighting Chance: The Struggle Over Woman Suffrage and Black Suffrage in Reconstruction America  Tue, 20 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Fighting Chance: The Struggle Over Woman Suffrage and Black Suffrage in Reconstruction AmericaFighting Chance: The Struggle Over Woman Suffrage and Black Suffrage in Reconstruction America by Faye E. Dudden, a review from The Wilson Quarterly by Nina Silber. 
Review-a-Day for Mon, Sep 19: Mister Wonderful: A Love Story  Mon, 19 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Mister Wonderful: A Love StoryMister Wonderful: A Love Story by Daniel Clowes, a review from Rain Taxi by James R. Fleming. 
Review-a-Day for Sun, Sep 18: In Red  Sun, 18 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
In RedIn Red by Magdalena Tulli, a review from NPR by Jessa Crispin. 
Review-a-Day for Sat, Sep 17: Big Vegan: 400 Recipes: No Meat, No Dairy, All Delicious  Sat, 17 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Big Vegan: 400 Recipes: No Meat, No Dairy, All DeliciousBig Vegan: 400 Recipes: No Meat, No Dairy, All Delicious by Robin Asbell, a review from Powells.com by Jill Owens. 
Review-a-Day for Fri, Sep 16: Potato: A History of the Propitious Esculent  Fri, 16 Sep 2011 00:00:01 PST
Potato: A History of the Propitious EsculentPotato: A History of the Propitious Esculent by John Reader, a review from The New Republic by Peter Duffy.