Personal tools
You are here: Home About Us Library Policies Library Card and Borrowing Policies

Library Card and Borrowing Policies

Document Actions

Find out how to get a library card, what is required for checking out material, loan periods, and fines and charges.

Service Policy:


  • All borrowers must be registered and have a valid local patron card to borrow library materials.  By filling out a registration form the patron accepts responsibility for all items borrowed from the library. 
  • Applicants under the age of 14 must have a parent or guardian sign the application form thereby giving consent and taking responsibility for library items checked out by the child.
  • Valid identification may be required.  A driver’s license, student ID or recent non-personal mail will be accepted.
  • At the time of initial registration, each patron may check out two items.
  • Lost or damaged cards which have not expired may be replaced with a new card for $1.00. 
  • If a card has expired and registration information is not on file with the library, registration will follow the procedures for new patrons.
  • The library honors cards from other Colorado public libraries as part of the Colorado Library Card (CLC) project.  A card from the Wellington Public Library will be issued with identification to these card holders.


  • Patrons should check out materials using their own library card.  Occasionally spouses, parents, or minor children may use a relative’s card if they do not have a card of their own and are unable to register for a card at that time (lack of identification, etc.).  They must present this card at the time of checkout.
  • Patrons should notify the library of a lost library card so that no items can be checked out by unauthorized persons.  The patron is responsible for items checked out prior to notifying the library of their lost card.
  • No staff member will determine what can be checked out by a patron.  What a child is reading is the responsibility of the parent.  It is the parent’s responsibility to notify the library if they do not want their child to checkout video materials with a certain rating.  A note block will be added to the child’s card.
  • Reserves can be placed on all circulating materials.  The patron will be notified when the material is ready and will be held for one week after notification.

Loan Periods

  • 1 week:  DVD’s, videos, CD’s, magazines
  • 3 weeks:  All other circulating items
  • Reference books and local history items do not normally circulate.  At the discretion of the librarian, some reference materials may be checked out overnight
  • All items may be renewed once unless there is a reserve list.
  • There is a check out limit of five DVDs per family.

Fines and Charges

  • Borrowers are responsible for items checked out on their cards.  The borrower will be charged replacement costs if items are lost or damaged beyond normal wear and can no longer circulate.  This policy applies to interlibrary loan items as well.
  • Fines per day for overdue items:

·        DVDs, CDs:  $1.00 per day

·        Video Cassettes:  50 cents per day

·        Books and all other items:  10 cents per day

·        Accumulated fines will not exceed the cost of the item

·        The same fines apply to interlibrary loan items

·        Accumulated fines of more than $5.00 or long overdue items will result in the loss of borrowing privileges.